Press Events Series Info Points Media Sponsors Tracks Drivers Contact
.: Results :.

West Texas Speedway (Lubbock, Texas)
August 11, 2017 Results


Hennan Handles Lubbock

Special to Michael Diers

August 11, 2017 (Lubbock, TX) David Hennan wins a thrilling night of racing at West Texas Raceway in Lubbock, Texas.  Thirteen cars made the pull to the high banked clay track.  Racing action started with 2 heat races. 

The 25 lap Feature action started with the 24 car of Xavier Ortega from Las Cruces, NM leading from the drop of the green flag.  On lap 3, the #ZZ car of Sloppy Hogg stalled on the front stretch bringing out the caution.  When action resumes. The 10 car of Brandon Brzozowski overtook the lead, and the #D11 of David Hennan moves into second place pushing Ortega to third.  The caution again came out on lap 7 with Eddy Hardage scraping the wall and slowing on the exit of turn 4. 

Brzozowski gets the restart and holds off a charge from Hennan.  On lap 15, lap traffic allows Hennan to slip past Brzozowski.  Lap 18 brought out the red flag for the #214 car of Mike Fenton .  He rode the wall and parked on top; he climbed from the car without injury.  After clearing the track, Hennan restarts the race in the middle of the backstretch.  The #22 car of Jon Ortega moved into second place on lap 17.  Without another caution, Hennan grabs his first Southern Texas Late Model Series feature win of the 2017 season.  Jon Ortega brings home second while  Brzozowski finishes third. The teams will head to Abilene Speedway in Abilene, Texas for racing action on August 12, 2017.  

  1. David Hennan
  2. Jon Ortega
  3. Brandon Brzozowski
  4. G.W. Egbert IV
  5. Robert Scrivner
  6. Sloppy Hogg
  7. Jose Moran
  8. Xavier Ortega
  9. Jim Moon
  10. Mike Fenton
  11. J.P. Dowell
  12. Eddy Hardage
  13. Kody Hardage